All Things Maine
All Things Maine

Friday, October 21, 2005

Maine Ski Hall of Fame Inductees

Ten men and one woman will be inducted into the Maine Ski Hall of Fame today at Lost Valley in Auburn:
  • Karl Anderson, born in Greene, was the first Alpine skier from Maine to compete in the Olympics, in 1976 and 1980.
  • Franklin Emery was a 20 year ski patrol veteran, and developed his own Ski Spree Wax. He served as President of the Downeast Ski Club and the Maine Ski Council.
  • Theo Johnsen wrote the first ski book in North America in 1905 (The Winter Sport of Skeeing), and sold skis at his store in Portland.
  • James "Jimmy" Jones formed Maine's first ski patrol in 1936 and served as patrol leader at Pleasant Mountain for many years.
  • Richard and Mary Kendall train skiers in the Lewiston/Auburn area.
  • Robert Morse, of Yarmouth High School, has coached cross country and alpine ski teams since 1970.
  • Richard "Pat" Murphy joined the Sugarloaf Ski Patrol in 1959 and is still active at 83 . In addition to patrolling Murphy has worked as volunteer for over ten years with Maine Handicapped Skiing and with the Special Olympics since it started at Sugarloaf in 1982.
  • Richard "Dick" Osgood's Edward Little ski teams have won 15 state titles and 3 New England championships
  • Robert "Rem" Remington coached his Telstar teams to six boys' state titles and five girls' titles. In 1978 his boys' team won the New England title.
  • Robert Pidacks represented the U.S. as a cross country skier in the 1952 Oslo Olympics.
technorati tags: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home